Wallace DWI Lawyer

Home /  Wallace DWI Lawyer
Wallace DWI Lawyer

Wallace DWI Attorney

A DWI conviction can be quite detrimental to your daily life. It can affect your social and employment status, and it can even cause you to lose your driver’s license. North Carolina takes drunk driving very seriously, and it can be difficult to challenge such a charge. Difficult, but not impossible. There are ways to build a defense against a DWI charge, and it begins with contacting a Wallace DWI lawyer to understand what your options may be.

Degrees of Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated

Driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Wallace, NC can land you in serious trouble in every state in the country. In North Carolina, if you are pulled over by the police and found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more, you can be arrested for a DWI. For drivers of commercial vehicles, the maximum BAC level is 0.04%

North Carolina separates the degrees of punishment for DWI offenders into five distinct levels, with Level V being the least serious and Level I being the most serious. All five levels carry their own penalties that can affect your life for the worse:

  • Level V: If you are pulled over and charged with a DWI, you could receive a Level V penalty. This level carries the least severe sentence, but it is still a fairly harsh penalty. You could be looking at a fine of up to $200 and a minimum jail time of 24 hours, with a maximum of 60 days. A sympathetic judge could suspend your sentence, but not until you have served at least 24 hours in jail, performed 24 hours of community service, or avoided driving a vehicle for 30 days.
  • Level IV: A Level IV punishment is slightly more severe than the previous one. You could be looking at a fine of up to $500 and a minimum jail time of 48 hours, with a maximum of 120 days. A judge could suspend your sentence, but not until you have served at least 48 hours in jail, performed 48 hours of community service, or refrained from driving a vehicle for 60 days.
  • Level III: There is a significant hike when you arrive at a Level III punishment. You could be looking at a fine of up to $1,000 and a minimum jail time of 72 hours, with a maximum of six months. A judge could suspend your sentence, but not until you have served at least 72 hours in jail, performed 72 hours of community service, or foregone driving a vehicle for 90 days.
  • Level II: Now, we arrive at the far more serious levels of DWI penalties. You could be looking at a fine of up to $2,000 and a minimum jail time of seven days, with a maximum of one year. A judge is no longer able to suspend your sentence, and you will need to serve the total punishment that you are given.
  • Level I: Level I is the harshest possible sentence you can receive for a DWI. You could be looking at a fine of up to $4,000 and a minimum jail time of 30 days, with a maximum of two years. A judge is no longer able to suspend your sentence, and you must serve the full extent of the sentence you received.

Typically, Level II and Level I offenders are often repeat offenders with revoked or suspended licenses. You can also be given a harsher punishment if you had a young child in the car at the time of your DWI arrest or if you caused an accident that hurt somebody.

Drunk Driving FAQs

Q: How Much Does a DWI Lawyer Cost in North Carolina?

A: Every DWI lawyer is going to charge a different fee and establish a different way for you to pay that fee. It could be a flat rate, an installment period, an hourly rate, or a contingency fee basis. Every lawyer does things a little differently. When searching for a DWI lawyer, you will want someone experienced, sympathetic, knowledgeable, and ruthless in all the right ways. You work with a prospective attorney, agreeing on a method of payment prior to hiring them.

Q: Do I Need a Lawyer for a DWI in North Carolina?

A: Technically, you do not need to hire a lawyer for a DWI in North Carolina. You can try to handle the situation on your own without legal counsel. However, you may be wildly unprepared for what’s to come. Lawyers don’t just provide legal advice, they stand up for you in situations where you may feel like you are out of options. Having an experienced DWI lawyer by your side could be the difference between success and failure for your case.

Q: Can You Get Out of a DWI in North Carolina?

A: Yes, it is possible for you to get out of a DWI in North Carolina. There are several options and avenues you can take to challenge the initial DWI arrest, such as:

  • Questioning the accuracy of the breathalyzer or field sobriety test
  • Questioning whether the police had probable cause to stop you in the first place
  • Providing evidence of a medical condition that may explain your alleged impairment

Q: Will You Go to Jail for a First-Time DWI in North Carolina?

A: Yes, it is possible that you could go to jail for a first-time DWI in North Carolina. It depends entirely on the circumstances surrounding your arrest and whether there were aggravating factors. If this was your first offense and you did not hurt anybody or put anyone in immediate danger, there is a chance that a lenient judge could give you a Level V sentence and possibly cancel the jail time in favor of community service.

Contact an Experienced DWI Lawyer Today

Dealing with the fallout of a DWI is never simple, and you might be feeling overwhelmed. Thankfully, you don’t have to go through it alone. The team at Silva, Kiernan & Associates, PLLC, is prepared to help you figure out your defense and fight the charges against you. Reach out to our team in Onslow County today to schedule a consultation today.

Contact Us

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Testimonials